Randall | San Diego, California

“India was a four month period of time where all my senses were firing full steam every day. I was constantly seeing something I had never seen before, and may never see again.

I saw a dog running down the side of the Ganges with a baby in it’s mouth. I saw people people brushing their teeth in the water that, 10 feet up the river, a cow was pooping in. I saw gorgeous old castles with elaborate stonework, really beautiful structures, ancient buildings, human rickshaws, open air markets. Your senses are just like pchoo! pchoo! pchoo! 

In Delhi I had a guy with leprosy come up to me asking for money. He was coming at me and  he had digits rotting off  his hands. It was disgusting. I ran from him, and that threw my head for a loop. Because I had just ran from a person who needed my help more than anyone I had ever met before, and I ran from him like he was the most disgusting person I had ever seen. That made me feel really guilty.

The first three hours I was [in India], there were cows walking next to the taxi. There was a human rickshaw driver cart with some fat Indian on the back bumping into the car. Gridlock like America’s never seen before, so packed that no one could move, it was at an absolute standstill. The smog was so bad it was hard to even breathe. I looked over and there was a little kid going to the bathroom on a curb. There was a house made out of car tires and tar paper. There was a  junkie with a needle in his arm saying “help me.”

That one little three hour episode, I’ll never forget it. It was like nothing I’d ever seen before. It was terrifying and it didn’t really stop for the whole time I was there. I had been warned about India, but I had no idea it was going to be like that.

I could have left that day. But there was something there intriguing enough that it kept me traveling. It was worth it. It was probably the most influential country that I’d been to. It just really changed my life.”

On Being American

It makes me feel extrememly fortunate. I’ve seen enough of this world to know that no other country offers as much as this country does. I think that there’s no excuse for you not to succeed in this country; it’s right there for you if you really want it.

In a lot of countries, like India, you could work your ass off and you will never get out of the class you’re in. You are born into a certain socioeconomic status that you will never get out of. It doesn’t matter, it’s where you are kept. I don’t think we know what that’s like.

Life Philosophy

Work hard play hard. It’s my philosophy because I get a lot of satisfaction out of working hard and I think my style of playing is hard.

The things I consider play are a bit extreme. Snowboarding, mountain biking, surfing, skateboarding. All of them are pretty physically intense sports and I… I push it. I’m not good at being someone that rides their bike around the neighborhood. I take it to a level that is pretty strenuous and dangerous. If you’re gonna play you should play hard.

Scariest Memory

The scariest moment for me was having gone to University, graduating, traveling extensively around the world for two years…. then getting back to America and realizing that I now had to jump into the rat race. I had no experience. I had no clothes to go interview for jobs. I didn’t know what I wanted to do.

Getting that first job, not having a job and being on my own, that was weeks and weeks of fear. To me that was scarier than plunging off a waterfall in a kayak.

Current Mission

I’m working towards personal physical health and that’s pretty much it really… It’s the effects of aging; it’s just becoming more and more obvious that I’m not getting any younger.

I’m realizing that to have fun for the rest of my life, I’m going to really need to address my physical fitness. Because it goes fast when you get older.

One thing you didn’t know about me

I think I’m more sensitive than people think… I would want someone to know that they can confide in me and I will keep a secret.

Leave a Reply

