Everardo | Puerto Vallarta, Jalisco, Mexico

everardo interview puerto vallarta mexico

I hadn’t used Tinder since being in San Francisco, so when the App told me I had been inactive for too long and would soon be taken out of search results, I decided to swipe through a few folks. Why not?

Everardo was one of the first people that came up, and I was actually pretty interested in getting the chance to meet him. We exchanged a few messages, and he invited me to spend some time with him in Puerto Vallarta before I headed off to Querétaro. I agreed, and showed up at his doorstep the next day to see what would come of the afernoon. He whisked me off in his vintage yellow bug to a town south of Vallarta, where we hiked to a beach and swam to a little island offshore. Interesting conversation, a vegetarian dinner, and this interview ensued…

Current Mission

Living my life as fully as possible without fucking up my future… I try live on the safe side, but I live each day like it’s the last day of my life.

Life Philosophy

My life philosophy is that we are are all going to die. Your friends, your parents, your ex. Everyone’s going to die. Me, you. It could be today, it could be tomorrow.

You can’t plan too much, you have to go with it. At the same time, you have to balance it out. Because if you don’t plan at all, you might be sixty and have nothing to show for it. I think balancing is the hard part.

What’s one thing I need to know about you to understand who you are as a person?

You can’t ask that question in an interview! Each person is a universe. You just… can’t. Just one thing?

Well, I’ll tell you one thing that could help you. It’s really…. towards my approach to life. My life philosophy is because I had an experience coming very close to death. While rock climbing, I had a 90-foot ground fall. That’s like 7 stories. It’s really high, and it’s kind of statistically impossible that I’m alive.

That’s why I have that life philosophy. I think that’s something that will help you understand me better.

What does it mean to be Mexican?

It means nothing, it was just a chance, it can’t mean anything. I mean, I really like Mexico, I think its a fucked up country, but I love my country. Especially the geography of it: it’s beautiful, it’s got the mountains, it’s great.

But… being Mexican… I hate boundaries, I hate borders. I am a citizen of the world. Everything would be better with less boundaries.

Is there anything about Mexican culture that has shaped how you are?

Improvisation. Mexicans are really good at that. Feeling ones way through everything, and I’m really good at that. Like when I travel, I never do a reservation. I hate reservations. If you know where you’re going to sleep, you’ve fucked up your trip. You’ve taken away the adventure.

What’s one amazing experience you’ve had?

When I was a kid, I remember going on this trip with my dad. I remember going into this gas station where I saw this guy… He had an epic beard, he was riding a bike, he had a machete tied to his handle bar, and all these bags hung over his bike.

I remember thinking that’s amazing, how is he doing this trip on his bike? It seemed so cool to me. Since we were going I think to my grandmothers house in Michoacan or something, this guy was probably doing the PanAm route from Alaska to Argentina.

This was way back, so he was probably one of the first guys who did it. I’ve researched it, and I’ve narrowed it down to a few guys that could have been him. At that point, not many people were doing that kind of thing.

The point is, when I came back from that trip with my parents, I realized I wanted to feel how that felt. How would it feel to be this lonely guy pulling into a gas station having traveled miles and miles and miles to get there? Like, the only thing you want to do is ride your bike.

Like I said, I’ve always ridden my bike, it’s something I’ve done since I was a kid, so I told my dad: I’m gonna ride my bike to Huatulco, which is a beach in Michoacan. He’s like, dude, you’re 14 years old, you’re not going to ride your bike. It’s like 800 kilometers. I thought I was gonna ride it in a day.

But then, a ways down the road I did some bike trips. Finally I did that trip. I remember not specifically getting to Huatulco, but Mazunte, which is a better beach I learned. I had ridden over the Sierra 200km, a long long day, and I got to Mazunte just as the sun was setting and the stars were coming out. That’s a nice memory, the fulfilment of a childhood dream.

On Puerto Vallarta

Before I was living here, I was living in Germany, which is the total opposite. Really cold, everything’s high tech, things work. And then I’m here, which is sunny, you don’t need clothes…. It’s the opposite.

Leave a Reply

